New Jersey Devils Unveil 2018-19 Opening Night Roster

The New Jersey Devils released their 2018-19 roster on Tuesday night. Photo credit: Kim Klement | USA Today Sports

The New Jersey Devils released their opening night roster for the 2018-19 campaign on Tuesday night. The team will carry 13 forwards, eight defensemen and two goaltenders to start the season. The official roster will make its debut on Saturday, October 6, when the Devils open their season against the Edmonton Oilers during the 2018 NHL Global Series in Gothenburg, Sweden.

There are a few new faces to the roster this season. Jean-Sebastien Dea, who was claimed off waivers from the Pittsburgh Penguins last week, will get a longer look with the big club and could fill the role of the recently departed Brian Gibbons, a pesky and fast skater that wreaks havoc on the forecheck and penalty kill who was a pleasant surprise for the Devils organization last season.

Additionally, defenseman Eric Gryba will have a spot on the big club to provide a veteran and physical presence on the blue line. Former first-round pick John Quenneville will also start the season with New Jersey after bouncing back and forth between the New Jersey and Binghamton Devils the past couple of seasons.

Former Devil Drew Stafford, who joined the team on a professional tryout for training camp, did not receive an offer and was cut from the squad. Goaltender Mackenzie Blackwood was also assigned to the Binghamton Devils (AHL) on paper, although he is still with New Jersey until they return home from Sweden.

It is also worth noting that the roster is very much subject to change. The Devils have the second-most available salary cap space in the league, with approximately $15 million available, behind only the Carolina Hurricanes. They have 48 contracts signed out of the maximum 50, so the team has plenty of room to sign players down the road or make a trade to take on bad contracts and gain assets. If the right offer comes along, expect GM Ray Shero to pull the trigger.

DAB’s Projected Opening Night Lineup:



Kinkaid, Lack

Extras: D Eric Gryba, D Steve Santini, Jean-Sebastien Dea, G Cory Schneider (Injured Reserve).

Below is the full roster.

Forwards (13)

#11 – Brian Boyle
#63 – Jesper Bratt
#20 – Blake Coleman
#10 – Jean-Sebastien Dea
#9 – Taylor Hall
#13 – Nico Hischier
#90 – Marcus Johansson
#23 – Stefan Noesen
#21 – Kyle Palmieri
#47 – John Quenneville
#44 – Miles Wood
#37 – Pavel Zacha
#19 – Travis Zajac

Defensemen (8)

#8 – Will Butcher
#6 – Andy Greene
#2 – Eric Gryba
#12 – Ben Lovejoy
#25 – Mirco Mueller
#16 – Steve Santini
#28 – Damon Severson
#45 – Sami Vatanen

Goaltenders (3)

#1 – Keith Kinkaid
#31 – Eddie Lack
#35 Cory Schneider*

* Injured Reserve


Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.